LITTLE EARLY LEARNERS DAYCARE

HARRISBURG, PAFamily Child Care HomeLicensed

4.4based on state inspection data
Capacity6
Est. price$963/mo

Contact information

Address97 SHELL ST, HARRISBURG, PA, 17109

CityHARRISBURG, PA 17109

CountyDauphin

Phone(717) 343-2627

Operating details

Capacity6

SubsidiesY

License dateSeptember 18, 2025

Compliance snapshot

Last inspection: 6/11/2025 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.

  • High0
  • Medium-High19
  • Medium4
  • Medium-Low2
  • Low0

Join the waitlist

Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.

Location

Using Address for Location

Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:

97 SHELL ST, HARRISBURG, PA, 17109, HARRISBURG, PA 17109

Questions to ask on a tour

Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.

  1. This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
  2. Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
  3. This is a small program - ask about backup care arrangements when the provider is ill or away
  4. For a home-based program, ask which areas of the home children use and who else is present during care hours

Violation summary

Last 2 years · Last inspection: 6/11/2025

  • High0
  • Medium-High8
  • Medium3
  • Medium-Low2
  • Low0

2025

  1. Medium risk6/11/2025

    Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less (3290.63)

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that the outlet above the children's lunch table was uncovered. CORRECTED ON SITE. Requirement: Protective receptacle covers shall be placed in electrical outlets accessible to children 5 years of age or younger. Correction: Outlet cover was placed in outlet immediately. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/12/2025
  2. Medium-Low risk6/11/2025

    Date fee to be paid (3290.123(a)(2))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that child 3 had an agreement form on file that did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the date on which the fee is to be paid. Correction: The agreement form will be updated to include the date the payment is due. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/13/2025
  3. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Services provided (3290.123(a)(3))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that child 1, 3, and 4 had been enrolled longer than 6 months and did not have a child service report on file. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the services to be provided to the family and the child, including the Department's approved form to provide information to the family about the child's growth and development in the context of the services being provided. the operator shall complete and update the form and provide a copy to the family in accordance with the updates regarding emergency contact information at § 3290.124(e). Correction: Child service reports will be completed for child 1, 3, 4, Child 4 is no longer enrolled. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/25/2025
  4. Medium risk6/11/2025

    Age and training (3290.31(f))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that staff person 1 did not have 12 training hours in the previous 12 months. Requirement: A staff person shall obtain an annual minimum of 12 clock hours of child care training. Correction: Staff person will complete 12 training hours and documentation will be kept on file. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/29/2025
  5. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    System in compliance/Operator or designated staff responsibility (3290.95(a)/3290.95(b))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that the facility fire system had not been tested every 30 days. The last recorded fire system test was held on 10/18/24. Requirement: Fire detection devices or systems must be in compliance with standards established under section 1016(c) of the act (62 P.S. § 1016(c)). The operator or designated staff person who is responsible for compliance with this chapter shall ensure the requirements in § 3290.95(a) are met. Correction: The fire detection system/smoke detectors will be tested every 30 days. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/25/2025
  6. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Every 60 days (3290.94(a)(1))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that fire drills were not held every 60 days. The most recent fire drill was recorded on 7/17/24. Requirement: The operator or designated staff person who is responsible for compliance with this chapter shall conduct fire drills and ensure that fire drills are conducted at least once every 60 days. Correction: A fire drill will be held every 60 days. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/25/2025
  7. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Each child (3290.181(a))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that children 5, 6, and 7 were in care and no file including emergency contact, agreement, or health assessment/immunizations was available. Child 6 was CORRECTED ON SITE. Requirement: An operator shall establish and maintain an individual record for each child enrolled in the facility. Correction: Parents of children 5, 6, and 7 will complete enrollment packet including emergency contact and agreement form. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/13/2025
  8. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Immunization record/Immunization record (3290.131(d)(5)/3290.131(e))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that children 1 and 4 had been enrolled longer than 60 days and did not have record of immunizations on file. Children 1 and 4 may not return to care until immunizations or exemption letters are on file. Requirement: A health report shall include a review of the child's immunized status according to recommendations of the ACIP. The facility may not accept or retain an infant 2 months of age or older, a toddler or a preschool child at the facility for more than 60 days following the first day of attendance at the facility unless the parent provides written verification from a physician, physician's assistant, CRNP, the Department of Health or a local health department of the dates (month, day and year) the child was administered immunizations in accordance with the recommendations of the ACIP. Correction: Parents of children 1 and 4 will provide child immunization record and children will not be able to return to care until record is provided. Child 4 is no longer enrolled as of 8/21/25. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/12/2025
  9. Medium risk6/11/2025

    Within 60 days (3290.131(a))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that children 1 and 4 had been enrolled longer than 60 days and did not have record of a health assessment on file. Requirement: The operator shall require the parent of an enrolled child to provide an initial health report no later than 60 days following the first day of attendance at the facility. Correction: Parents of children 1 and 4 will provide a health assessment. Child 4 is no longer enrolled as of 8/21/25. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/25/2025
  10. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Updated every 6 months (3290.124(e))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that children 1, 3, and 4 had been enrolled for longer than 6 months and did not have record of a file update. Requirement: The parent shall update in writing emergency contact information once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information. Correction: Parents of children 1, 3, and 4 will review and update their child's file. Child 4 is no longer enrolled as of 8/21/25. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/25/2025
  11. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Insurance coverage information (3290.124(b)(6))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that the emergency contact information for child 2 did not include health insurance coverage or policy number. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include health insurance coverage and policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits, if applicable. Correction: Parents of child 2 will provide their health insurance information and policy number. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/13/2025
  12. Medium-High risk6/11/2025

    Parent home/work address, phone (3290.124(b)(3))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that the emergency contact information for child 2 did not include parent home address, work address, or home/work phone numbers. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the home and work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent. Correction: Emergency contact information for child 2 will be updated to include parent home address, work address, and home/work phone numbers. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/12/2025
  13. Medium-Low risk6/11/2025

    Admission date (3290.123(a)(6))

    On 6/11/25, it was observed that the agreement form for child 3 did not specify the admission date for the child. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the date of the child's admission. Correction: The admission date will be added to the agreement form for child 3. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 6/13/2025

Showing the 25 most recent of 56 records on file; the full history loads with the interactive view.

Safety & Compliance Analysis

This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.

25Total Violations
0Recent Violations
(Past 6 Months)

Parent Recommendations

Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:

  • Review the detailed violations listed above.
  • Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
  • Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
  • Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.

Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.

Estimated monthly cost

$963/month

This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.

Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median)see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.

About this daycare

  • Location: HARRISBURG, Dauphin County
  • Capacity: 6
  • Type: Family Child Care Home
  • Years in operation: 1

What parents actually pay

No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.

Add what you pay

Anonymous. One report per family. It helps other parents budget honestly.

Parent Reviews

More daycares in HARRISBURG, PA