VERONICA BOWMAN
YORK, PA·Family Child Care HomeLicensed
Contact information
Address162 E COTTAGE PL, YORK, PA, 17401
CityYORK, PA 17401
CountyYork
Phone(717) 843-0534
Operating details
Capacity6
SubsidiesY
License dateMay 19, 2026
Compliance snapshot
Last inspection: 2/12/2026 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.
- High1
- Medium-High11
- Medium9
- Medium-Low4
- Low0
Join the waitlist
Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.
Location
Using Address for Location
Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:
162 E COTTAGE PL, YORK, PA, 17401, YORK, PA 17401
Questions to ask on a tour
Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.
- This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
- Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
- This is a small program - ask about backup care arrangements when the provider is ill or away
- For a home-based program, ask which areas of the home children use and who else is present during care hours
Violation summary
Last 2 years · Last inspection: 2/12/2026
- High1
- Medium-High8
- Medium6
- Medium-Low4
- Low0
2026
- Medium-High risk2/12/2026
Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos (3290.181(c))
Child #1 did not have documentation of the financial agreement updated in the past 6 months. Last updated 10.1.2024. Requirement: A parent is required to review and update the emergency contact information and the financial agreement at least once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information. Correction: My plan of correction is to review necessary paperwork/forms every Six months with parents. Child #1 now has documentation of an updated financial agreement. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/13/2026 - Medium-Low risk2/12/2026
Written and signed by physician, PA, CRNP. (3290.131(c))
Child #3 physical does not include a signature by a physician, physician's assistant or a CRNP. Requirement: A health report must be written and signed by a physician, physician's assistant or a CRNP. The signature must include the individual's professional title. Correction: My plan of correction is to review forms once received from parent and make sure all questions are answered and form has parent signature. Child #3 physical now includes a signature by a physician, physician's assistant or a CRNP. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/19/2026 - Medium-High risk2/12/2026
Insurance coverage information (3290.124(b)(6))
Child #2 emergency contact does not include policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include health insurance coverage and policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits, if applicable. Correction: My plan of correction is reviewing forms to make sure all information on form are answered to its entirety. Child #2 emergency contact now includes a policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/13/2026 - Medium risk2/12/2026
Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates (3290.123(a)(6)/3290.182(2))
Child #2 agreement does not specify the date of the child's admission. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the date of the child's admission. A child's record must contain the dates of application, admission and withdrawal of the child. Correction: My plan of correction will be to review form once received from parent to make sure all questions are answered correctly on form. Child #2 agreement now specifies the date of the child's admission. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/13/2026 - Medium-Low risk2/12/2026
Designated release persons (3290.123(a)(5))
Child #2 agreement does not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: My plan of correction is to review form once received from parent. Child #2 agreement now specifies the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/13/2026 - Medium risk2/12/2026
Amount of fee (3290.123(a)(1))
Child #2 agreement did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week. Correction: My plan of correction is to review documents when received from parent to make sure all questions are completed. Child #2 agreement now specifies the fee amount. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/12/2026 - Medium-Low risk2/12/2026
Signed (3290.123(a))
Child #2 agreement was not signed by a parent. Requirement: An agreement shall be signed by the operator and the parent. Correction: My plan of correction is to review documents when received from parent to make sure all questions are completed. Child #2 agreement is now signed by a parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/12/2026 - Medium-High risk2/12/2026
Has all items (3290.73(c))
During the time of inspection, the first aid kit was missing nonporous gloves. (Corrected on site) Requirement: A first-aid kit must contain the following: soap, an assortment of adhesive bandages, sterile gauze pads, tweezers, tape, scissors and disposable, nonporous gloves. Correction: My plan of action will be to check first aid kit quarterly to make sure all necessary items are in kit. Also replace any items. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/12/2026
2025
- Medium risk2/25/2025
No peeling paint or plaster (3290.75(a))
As you walk out of the kitchen door, into the outdoor play space, chipped and peeling blue paint was observed accessible to the children. Requirement: Peeled or damaged paint or damaged plaster is not permitted on indoor or outdoor surfaces in the child care facility. Correction: The chipped and peeling blue paint will be fixed be the end of March. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 3/31/2025 - Medium-High risk2/25/2025
Comply with CPSL/CPSL information (3290.32(a)/3290.192(3))
Documentation on file for facility person #1 did not include an updated NSOR certificate. The NSOR certificate expired on 1.30.2025. Requirement: The operator shall comply with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services) A facility person's record shall include a copy of requests for the criminal history record and child abuse registry clearance information, a copy of the disclosure statement and a copy of the completed clearance information required under the CPSL. Facility person #1 cannot be in the home during childcare hours until all updated clearances have been received. Correction: Facility person #1 was not present when children were in care until clearance was received. Facility person #1 received an updated NSOR certificate on 3.18.2025. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 3/21/2025 - Medium-High risk2/25/2025
Locked or inaccessible - in original container (3290.64(a))
During the time of inspection, diapering wipes labeled "keep out of reach of children" were under the changing table accessible to children. - Corrected on site Requirement: Cleaning materials and other toxic materials shall be stored in an original labeled container or in a container that specifies the content. Toxics shall be kept in a locked area or in an area inaccessible to children, and shall be stored away from food, food preparation areas and child care spaces. Correction: Diapering wipes labeled "keep out of reach of children" were moved to make them inaccessible to children at the time of inspection. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/25/2025 - Medium-Low risk2/25/2025
Clean, age appropriate (3290.105(a))
During the time of inspection, the pack & play was not labeled with the child's name. - Corrected on site Requirement: Individual, clean, age-appropriate rest equipment shall be provided for preschool, toddler and infant children as agreed between the parent and the operator. The rest equipment must be labeled with the child's name and used only by the named child while enrolled in the program. Correction: The pack & play was labeled with the child's name on it at the time of inspection. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/25/2025 - Medium risk2/25/2025
Arrival/departure times (3290.123(a)(4))
Child #1 fee agreement did not include the child's departure time. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the child's arrival and departure times. Correction: Child #1 fee agreement now includes the child's departure time. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/28/2025 - Medium risk2/25/2025
Designated release persons (3290.123(a)(5))
Child #1 and child #3 fee agreement did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: Child #1 and child #3 fee agreements now specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/28/2025 - Medium-High risk2/25/2025
Insurance coverage information (3290.124(b)(6))
Child #1 emergency contact information did not include health insurance coverage or policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include health insurance coverage and policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits, if applicable. Correction: Child #1 emergency contact information now includes health insurance coverage or policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/28/2025 - Medium-High risk2/25/2025
Name/address/phone release person (3290.124(b)(7))
Child #1 emergency contract information did not include the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: Child #1 emergency contract information now includes the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 2/28/2025 - High risk2/25/2025
Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission (3290.124(b)(4)/3290.182(3))
Child #1 emergency contact information did not include the written consent signed by a parent for emergency medical care. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the written consent signed by a parent for emergency medical care. A child's record must contain signed parental consent for emergency medical care for the child. Written consent is required prior to admission. Correction: Child #1 emergency contact information now includes the written consent signed by a parent for emergency medical care. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 3/21/2025 - Medium risk2/25/2025
Updated toddler/preschool health report: every 12 months (3290.131(b)(2))
Child #2 and child #3 did not have an updated health report on file within the last 12 months. Requirement: The operator shall require the parent to provide an updated health report at least every 12 months for an older toddler or preschool child. Correction: Child #2 and child #3 now have an updated health report on file. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 3/31/2025 - Medium-High risk2/25/2025
Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission (3290.182(5))
Child #1 emergency contact information did not include parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff. Requirement: A child's record must contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff. Written consent is required prior to admission. Correction: Child #1 emergency contact information now includes parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).
Corrected 3/12/2025
Showing the 25 most recent of 69 records on file; the full history loads with the interactive view.
Safety & Compliance Analysis
This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.
(Past 6 Months)
Parent Recommendations
Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:
- Review the detailed violations listed above.
- Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
- Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
- Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.
Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.
Estimated monthly cost
$1,204/month
This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.
Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median) — see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.
About this daycare
- Location: YORK, York County
- Capacity: 6
- Type: Family Child Care Home
- Years in operation: 0
What parents actually pay
No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.
Parent Reviews
More daycares in YORK, PA
- LITTLE BULLDOGS ACADEMY · 4.5★
- KINDERCARE LEARNING CENTER 301284 · 4.4★ · no violations on record
- LOTS OF LOVE DAYCARE CENTER · 4.4★ · no violations on record
- KINGS COUNTRY KIDS/NICOLLE KING · 4.4★
- MAGICAL DAYS LEARNING CENTER LLC · 4.4★
- VALERIE DAVIS · 4.4★
- BABYDUMPLINS · 4.3★ · no violations on record
- BEST FRIENDS DAY CARE CENTER LLC · 4.3★ · no violations on record