CRAFTON CHILDRENS CORNER

PITTSBURGH, PAChild Care CenterLicensed

3.2based on state inspection data
Capacity56
Est. price$817/mo

Contact information

Address545 HAMILTON RD, PITTSBURGH, PA, 15205

CityPITTSBURGH, PA 15205

CountyAllegheny

Phone(412) 921-2273

Operating details

Capacity56

SubsidiesY

License dateMay 19, 2026

Compliance snapshot

Last inspection: 2/5/2026 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.

  • High0
  • Medium-High16
  • Medium6
  • Medium-Low3
  • Low0

Join the waitlist

Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.

Location

Using Address for Location

Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:

545 HAMILTON RD, PITTSBURGH, PA, 15205, PITTSBURGH, PA 15205

Questions to ask on a tour

Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.

  1. This facility has health or sanitation findings on its state record - ask about their current cleaning, diapering, and handwashing procedures
  2. This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
  3. Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
  4. They accept child care subsidies - ask what the enrollment process looks like and whether there is a waitlist for subsidized spots

Violation summary

Last 2 years · Last inspection: 2/5/2026

  • High0
  • Medium-High9
  • Medium4
  • Medium-Low1
  • Low0

2026

  1. Medium-High risk2/5/2026

    Has all items (3270.75(c))

    The first-aid kit, in the downstairs preschool room, did not contain scissors. Requirement: A first-aid kit must contain the following: soap, an assortment of adhesive bandages, sterile gauze pads, tweezers, tape, scissors and disposable, nonporous gloves. Correction: Immediately upon notification, scissors were added to the first-aid kit in the downstairs preschool room to ensure the kit contains all required items as outlined in §3270.75(c). Inspection: Change in Location Capacity. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/5/2026
  2. Medium-High riskStandard 402/5/2026

    40 square feet wall-to-wall (3270.61(c))

    The downstairs room was being used as childcare space prior to it being measured and inspected. Requirement: Indoor child care space is measured within permanent stationary partitions or walls. The allowable number of children in a space is determined by dividing the total square feet in a space by 40. Correction: The downstairs room will only be used for childcare after DHS review and approval of the submitted measurements and calculated capacity. The center coordinator will verify that all indoor spaces used for childcare have been measured, inspected, and approved before use. Inspection: Change in Location Capacity. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/5/2026
  3. Medium-High risk2/2/2026

    Insurance coverage information (3270.124(b)(6))

    The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #5, did not include the health insurance policy number. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include health insurance coverage and policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits, if applicable. Correction: The emergency contact form for child #5 was reviewed, and the parent was contacted immediately to obtain the missing health insurance policy number. All children's emergency contact forms were reviewed to ensure the required information, including the health policy number. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/9/2026
  4. Medium risk2/2/2026

    Arrival/departure times (3270.123(a)(4))

    The Agreement, in the file for Child #4, did not specify the child's departure time. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the child's arrival and departure times. Correction: The parent agreement for child #4 was immediately reviewed and updated to include the specific daily departure time. All current child files were reviewed to ensure that arrival and departure times are clearly documented in each agreement. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/6/2026
  5. Medium risk2/2/2026

    Handwashing signs (3270.82(h))

    In the boys' restroom, handwashing signs were not posted at two (2) urinals. Requirement: A facility person and an able child shall wash his hands after toileting and before eating. A sign on which this requirement is written shall be posted at each toilet, training chair, diapering area and sink in the facility. Correction: Appropriate handwashing signage was immediately posted at the two urinals to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements. Signage is clearly visible and placed at the child's eye level. All restroom areas were reviewed to confirm that required handwashing signage is posted at every sink and toileting area. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/6/2026
  6. Medium-High risk2/2/2026

    Comply with CPSL (3270.32(a))

    The file for Staff #1 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training dated 10.24.25, which exceeded the 90-days of hire requirement. The file for Staff #3 contained Child Abuse Clearances dated 7.7.20 and 10.7.25, and FBI Clearances dated 5.15.20 and 10.7.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. Requirement: The operator shall comply with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services). Correction: The director conducted a comprehensive review of all staff files to verify hire dates and 90-day training deadlines. All expired and overdue items have been corrected, and proper documentation is now on file. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/6/2026

2025

  1. Medium risk2/24/2025

    Health and Safety Training (3270.31(f))

    The file for Staff #4 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Health and Safety training on 1.17.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement. The file for Staff #5 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Health and Safety training on 2.5.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement. Requirement: Staff persons shall complete professional development within 90 days of hire as listed in subsections (f)1-10. Correction: Staff #4 and Staff #5 completed health and safety training, but after 90 days of the hire requirement. The center coordinator will remind staff to complete required training. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  2. Medium-Low risk2/24/2025

    Devices must be compliant/Director or designated staff person ensure compliance (3270.95(a)/3270.95(b))

    The Fire System Testing Log contained documentation that the Fire System was manually tested on 12.6.24 and 1.9.25, which exceeded the 30 day requirement. Requirement: Fire detection devices or systems must be in compliance with standards established under section 1016(c) of the act (62 P.S. § 1016(c)). The Director or designated staff person who is responsible for compliance with this chapter shall ensure the requirements under subsection (a) are met. Correction: The center coordinator will record and conduct the fire system manually within 30 days. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  3. Medium-High risk2/24/2025

    Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR (3270.31(f)(10))

    The files for Staff #4 (see IS Code Sheet) and Staff #5 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 2.6.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement. Requirement: Staff persons shall complete professional development in pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation within 90 days of hire. Correction: Staff #4 and Staff #5 completed pediatric first aid and pediatric CPR, but after 90 days of hire requirement. The center coordinator will schedule during their first 90 days. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  4. Medium-High risk2/24/2025

    Name/address/phone release person (3270.124(b)(7))

    The Emergency Contact form, in the files for Child #1 and Child #3 did not contain the release person's address. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: The parents of child #1 and child #3 added the release persons' addresses to their emergency contact. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  5. Medium-High risk2/24/2025

    Parent home/work address, phone (3270.124(b)(3))

    The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #1, Child #2, Child #3, and Child #4 did not contain the enrolling parent's work address. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the home and work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent. Correction: The parents of child #1, #2, #3, and #4 added work addresses of the enrolling parents. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  6. Medium risk2/24/2025

    Designated release persons (3270.123(a)(5))

    The Agreement, in the file for Child #2, did not specify the person(s) designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: The parents of child #2 filled in on their contract the persons designated to pick up their child. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025
  7. Medium-High risk2/24/2025

    Comply with CPSL (3270.32(a))

    The file for Staff #1 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 11.6.19 and 11.14.24, which exceeded the 60 month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #2 (see IS Code Sheet) contained a Child Abuse Clearance dated 10.19.21, which was beyond the first date working with children. The file for Staff #3 contained documentation of State Police Clearances dated 2.1.16 and 2.2.21, which exceeded the 60 month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #4 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 2.6.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement. The file for Staff #5 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 1.29.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement. Requirement: The operator shall comply with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services). Correction: All required training and clearances were completed. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/28/2025

2024

  1. Medium-High risk11/6/2024

    Comply with CPSL/CPSL information (3270.32(a)/3270.192(4))

    The signed, Disclosure Statement, in the files for Staff #1, Staff #2, and Staff #3, did not contain a date. It could not be determined if the Disclosure Statements were obtained at the time of hire due to the missing date. Requirement: The operator shall comply with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services). A facility person's record shall include a copy of requests for the criminal history record and child abuse registry clearance information, a copy of the disclosure statement and a copy of the completed clearance information required under the CPSL. Staff #1, Staff #2, and Staff #3 may not work in a child care position at the facility. Correction: The employees added dates to the disclosure statements. They signed the date they signed their paperwork on the first day they started here. Inspection: Allocated Unannounced Monitoring. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 11/13/2024

Showing the 25 most recent of 57 records on file; the full history loads with the interactive view.

Safety & Compliance Analysis

This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.

25Total Violations
0Recent Violations
(Past 6 Months)

Parent Recommendations

Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:

  • Review the detailed violations listed above.
  • Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
  • Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
  • Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.

Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.

Estimated monthly cost

$817/month

This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.

Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median)see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.

About this daycare

  • Location: PITTSBURGH, Allegheny County
  • Capacity: 56
  • Type: Child Care Center
  • Years in operation: 0

What parents actually pay

No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.

Add what you pay

Anonymous. One report per family. It helps other parents budget honestly.

Parent Reviews

More daycares in PITTSBURGH, PA