Mechanic Grove Church of the Brethren DC

QUARRYVILLE, PAChild Care CenterLicensed

4.4based on state inspection data
Capacity138
Est. price$774/mo

Contact information

Address1392 ROBERT FULTON HWY, QUARRYVILLE, PA, 17566

CityQUARRYVILLE, PA 17566

CountyLancaster

Phone(717) 806-2163

Operating details

Capacity138

SubsidiesY

License dateAugust 8, 2025

Compliance snapshot

Last inspection: 8/7/2025 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.

  • High1
  • Medium-High16
  • Medium5
  • Medium-Low3
  • Low0

Join the waitlist

Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.

Location

Using Address for Location

Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:

1392 ROBERT FULTON HWY, QUARRYVILLE, PA, 17566, QUARRYVILLE, PA 17566

Questions to ask on a tour

Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.

  1. This facility has health or sanitation findings on its state record - ask about their current cleaning, diapering, and handwashing procedures
  2. This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
  3. This facility has staffing or training findings on its state record - ask about background checks, required training completion, and staff turnover
  4. Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses

Violation summary

Last 2 years · Last inspection: 8/7/2025

  • High1
  • Medium-High15
  • Medium5
  • Medium-Low3
  • Low0

2025

  1. Medium risk8/7/2025

    Infant: updated health report every 6 months/Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months (3270.131(b)(1)/3270.131(b)(2))

    The health assessments on file for child #1 (infant) were dated in December of 2024 and subsequently more than 6 months later in July of 2025. The health assessments on file for child #4 were dated in June of 2024 and subsequently more than 6 months later in June of 2025. The child was a young toddler at the time of the lapse. The health assessments on file for child #5 (preschooler) were dated in January of 2023 and subsequently more than 12 months later in August of 2024. Requirement: The operator shall require the parent to provide an updated health report at least every 6 months for an infant or young toddler. The operator shall require the parent to provide an updated health report at least every 12 months for an older toddler or preschool child. Correction: Director obtained the current health assessment for child #1. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  2. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Health and Safety Training (3270.31(f))

    Staff person #1 completed the required health and safety trainings (listed in subsections f1-9) 105 days after their date of hire. Staff person #13 completed pediatric first aid and CPR (listed in subsection f10) 172 days after their date of hire. Requirement: Staff persons shall complete professional development within 90 days of hire as listed in subsections (f)1-10. (1) Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization) and the establishment of a grace period that allows homeless children and children in foster care to receive services under this subchapter while their families (including foster families) are taking necessary action to comply with immunization and other health and safety requirements. (2) Prevention of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and use of safe sleep practices. (3) Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent. (4) Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions. (5) Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water and vehicular traffic. (6) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma. (7) Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster or a man-caused event (such as violence at a child care facility) within the meaning of those terms under section 602(a)(1) of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 U.S.C.A. § 5195a(a)(1)). (8) Handling and storage of hazardous materials and appropriate disposal of biocontaminants. (9) Precautions when transporting children. (10) Pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Correction: Moving forward will make certain that all new hire staff have completed their training within the 90 day allotted time frame. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  3. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Comply with CPSL (3270.32(a))

    The NSOR certificate on file for staff person #4 was more than 60 months old (dated 7/23/2020) and was no longer valid. (CORRECTED ON SITE) The NSOR certificate on file for staff person #5 was more than 60 months old (dated 11/6/2019) and was no longer valid. The NSOR certificates on file for staff person #6 were dated 11/6/2019, and subsequently more than 60months later on 2/24/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid NSOR on file. The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #6 were dated 2/14/2020, and subsequently more than 60 months later on 8/5/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid mandated reporter training on file. The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #7 were dated 3/6/2020, and subsequently more than 60 months later on 7/23/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid mandated reporter training on file. The disclosure on file for staff person #9 was not witnessed by a representative of the legal entity. According to documentation on file at the time of inspection, when staff person #9 began working with children at the facility the staff record did not contain a completed NSOR certificate as required under the CPSL. The NSOR was dated 30 days after the staff person's first day working in a child care position. The NSOR certificates on file for staff person #10 were dated 1/15/2020 and subsequently more than 60months later on 2/3/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid NSOR on file. The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #10 were dated 6/9/2020, and subsequently more than 60 months later on 7/23/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid mandated reporter training on file. Staff person #14 worked with expired clearances on file. The state police clearance expired 1/2/2025 and was not updated until 2/20/25. The child abuse clearance expired 2/12/2025 and was not updated until 3/1/25. The FBI clearance expired 2/4/2025 and was not updated until 3/5/25. The NSOR certificate expired 11/6/19 and was not updated until 2/26/25. The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #14 were dated 1/10/2020, and subsequently more than 60 months later on 7/30/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid mandated reporter training on file. The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #16 were dated 1/22/2020, and subsequently more than 60 months later on 8/1/25. The staff person worked in a child care position without a valid mandated reporter training on file. Requirement: The operator shall comply with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services). Facility Person #5 may not work in a child care position at the facility. Correction: Moving forward will monitor accounts with program to ensure that clearances and renewed in the proper time frame before they expire. An updated NSOR was obtained for staff person #5. Staff person #9 - A disclosure was completed with a member of the legal entity. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  4. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Locked or inaccessible/Toxic plants not permitted (3270.66(a)/3270.66(d))

    A bag of rock salt was observed on the toddler playground in an area accessible to the toddlers using the space. (CORRECTED ON SITE) Toxic cleaning products were observed underneath the bathroom sink in the children's bathroom in the daycare building. (CORRECTED ON SITE) A toxic plant (pokeweed) was observed growing on the toddler playground in an area accessible to the toddlers using the space. Requirement: Cleaning materials and other toxic materials shall be kept in an area or container that is locked or made inaccessible to children. Toxic plants are not permitted in a child care space. Correction: Opening and Closing staff will inspect outside playground area daily to ensure there is nothing there that might be hazardous to the children and doesn't belong in that area. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  5. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Inaccessible to children (3270.75(b))

    A backpack containing a first aid kit was observed on the toddler playground in an area accessible to the toddlers using the space. (CORRECTED ON SITE) A backpack containing a first aid kit was observed in the gym in an area accessible to the children using the space. (CORRECTED ON SITE) Requirement: A first-aid kit must be inaccessible to children. Correction: Backpack was hung from fence posting facing outward so that the children cannot reach it. The school-age backpack was put in the kitchen when in the cafeteria and a staff person will wear it when outside. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/8/2025
  6. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    On excursions (3270.75(d))

    The first aid kit that the school-age group takes on excursions did not contain a bottle of water. (CORRECTED ON SITE) Requirement: One first-aid kit per child care group must accompany children and facility persons on excursions from the facility. Each first aid kit taken on an excursion must contain a bottle of water in addition to the items specified at §3270.75(c). Correction: A new bottle of water was placed in the backpack during inspection. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/8/2025
  7. Medium risk8/7/2025

    Clean and good repair (3270.82(g))

    A toilet for the school-age children had signs of not being cleaned daily. The toilet bowl included a ring of pink bacterial residue. Requirement: Toilet areas and fixtures shall be cleaned daily and be in good repair. Correction: Toilet was cleaned with brush to remove the faint pink ring. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/8/2025
  8. Medium-Low risk8/7/2025

    Signed (3270.123(a))

    The agreement on file for child #6 was not signed by the parent. The agreements on file for children #7, #8, and #9 were not signed by the operator. Requirement: An agreement shall be signed by the operator and the parent. Correction: Signature of Parents and Operator were obtained for the Agreements. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  9. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Designated release persons (3270.123(a)(5))

    The agreement on file for child #6 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: Parent updated agreement to include the names that were also put on the Emergency Contact form. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  10. Medium risk8/7/2025

    Admission date (3270.123(a)(6))

    The agreements on file for children #6, #7, #8 and #9 did not specify the date of the child's admission. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the date of the child's admission. Correction: Date of Admission was added to the Agreement. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  11. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Parent home/work address, phone/Name/address/phone release person (3270.124(b)(3)/3270.124(b)(7))

    The emergency contact information on file for child #5 did not include the enrolling parent's work address and also did not include addresses for 2 of the listed release persons. The emergency contact information on file for child #7 did not include the enrolling parent's work address and phone number. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the home and work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent. Emergency contact information must include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: Address/Phone information for parent's work and for release persons obtained. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  12. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Written instructions (3270.133(2))

    An inhaler was on site for child #2. The medication was loose in a bag and did not include written instructions from the individual who prescribed the medicine, or a prescription label. An epi pen was on site for child #3. The medication was loose in a bag and did not include written instructions from the individual who prescribed the medicine, or a prescription label. Requirement: A staff person shall administer a prescription medication only if written instructions are provided from the individual who prescribed the medicine. Instructions for administration contained on a prescription label are acceptable. Correction: Spoke with parent and the second inhaler was in the bag by accident and not something the child required at the facility therefor it was returned. The paperwork was obtained for the other child. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/8/2025
  13. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Medication log (3270.133(7))

    Two inhalers were on site for child #2. The facility only had a completed medication log on file for one of the two inhalers. Requirement: An operator is responsible to establish and maintain a medication log if prescription or nonprescription medication is administered. Correction: Spoke with parent and the second inhaler was in the bag by accident and not something the child required at the facility therefor it was returned. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/8/2025
  14. Medium-High riskStandard 128/7/2025

    12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter (3270.151(a))

    The health assessments on file for staff person #2 were dated July of 2023 and more than 24 months later in August of 2025. The health assessments on file for staff person #3 were date in August of 2022 and more than 24 months later in September of 2024. The health assessments on file for staff person #10 were date in January of 2023 and more than 24 months later in February of 2025. The health assessments on file for staff person #15 were date in September of 2022 and more than 24 months later in July of 2025. Requirement: A facility person providing direct care who comes into contact with the children or who works with food preparation shall have a health assessment conducted within 12 months prior to providing initial service in a child care setting and every 24 months thereafter. A health assessment is valid for 24 months following the date of signature, if the person does not contract a communicable disease or develop a medical problem. Correction: Health Assessments will be renewed before expiration. If the staff person cannot obtain an appointment before the renewal time a doctor's note will be obtained explaining the reason why and when the appointment is scheduled. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  15. Medium-Low risk8/7/2025

    Exam communicable disease (3270.151(c)(3))

    The health assessment on file for staff person #7 did not include results of an examination for communicable diseases. Requirement: An adult health assessment must include an examination for communicable diseases and the results of that examination. Correction: When receiving a renewed Health Assessment will make certain that all questions on the form have been answered by physician. The form was corrected by the medical provider. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  16. Medium-Low risk8/7/2025

    Written statement (3270.166(1))

    A written statement giving the formula and feeding schedule had not been obtained for infant child #1 Requirement: A written statement giving the formula and feeding schedule for an infant shall be obtained from the parent. Correction: Written statement from parent was obtained but rewritten by staff person for infant room. New schedule was needed so a new statement was obtained and signed by parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/12/2025
  17. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos (3270.181(c))

    The agreement on file for child #1 was signed/dated by the parent in November of 2024, and subsequently more than 6 months later in July of 2025. Requirement: A parent is required to review and update the emergency contact information and the financial agreement at least once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information. Correction: Director is utilizing calendar to ensure that all Agreements are reviewed, signed and dated every 6 months by parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  18. Medium risk8/7/2025

    Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility (3270.31(e)/3270.192(2)(iii))

    The record for staff person #11 did not include documentation of 12 clock hours of annual child care training for the previous training year (6/2024-6/2025). The record for staff person #12 did not include documentation of 12 clock hours of annual child care training for the previous training year (6/2024-6/2025). Annual training hours have since been completed. Requirement: A staff person shall obtain an annual minimum of 12 clock hours of child care training. A facility person's record shall include verification of child care experience, education and training following the outset of service at the facility. Correction: For new hires will make certain that annual training follows year from date of hire, not year to year inspection. Documentation of training was obtained for staff person 11. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  19. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Fire safety - 1 yr. (3270.31(e)(4)(ii))

    Fire safety trainings on file for staff person #8 were dated in June of 2024, and subsequently more than 12 months later in August of 2025. Requirement: Staff persons shall participate, at least annually, in firesafety training conducted by a fire protection professional. Staff persons and volunteers shall receive training in maintenance of smoke detectors, the duties of facility persons during a fire drill and during a fire and the use of the facility's fire extinguishers, not including discharge of the fire suppressant agent. Correction: Staff Fire Safety renewed in August. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  20. Medium-High risk8/7/2025

    Age and Training (3270.31(e)(4)(i))

    The previous pediatric first aid and CPR training on file for staff person #15 expired at the end of January 2025. An updated training was not completed until February 20, 2025. Requirement: Competence is the completion of training by a professional in the field of first-aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). All staff persons shall renew their certification in pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on or before the expiration of the most current certification. Correction: Staff renewed pediatric first aid CPR training in February. Moving forward will make certain pediatric first aid and CPR is renewed before expiration date. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/27/2025
  21. Medium risk8/7/2025

    On file at facility (3270.18(a))

    At the time of inspection, the operator was unable to provide documentation of current general liability insurance policy. Requirement: The legal entity shall have comprehensive general liability insurance to cover the persons who are on the premises. A current copy of the insurance policy shall be on file at the facility. Correction: The church secretary was not here on the Friday of inspection to give me the current paperwork. She was able to give it to me Monday morning. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 8/11/2025
  22. Medium-High risk1/31/2025

    Devices must be compliant (3270.95(a))

    According to the log on file at the time of inspection, more than 30 days lapsed between the following manual tests of the fire detection system: 8/1/24 to 9/2/24, 10/1/24 to 11/1/24 to 12/2/24 to 1/2/25. Requirement: Fire detection devices or systems must be in compliance with standards established under section 1016(c) of the act (62 P.S. § 1016(c)). To verify operability, a child care center shall manually test all fire detection devices or systems at least once every thirty days and shall maintain a written record of the testing with the facility's fire drill logs. Correction: Moving forward the fire detection system will be tested within the 30-day time frame. Inspection: Unannounced Monitoring. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/11/2025
  23. High risk1/31/2025

    Inpatient hospitalization or ER treatment of child (3270.20(a)(1))

    The operator did not telephone notice the appropriate regional office within 24 hours of a child receiving emergency room treatment. An email was sent in-lieu of a phone call. Requirement: The operator shall immediately notify a child's parent and shall telephone notice to the appropriate regional office within 24 hours if a child in care at the facility is hospitalized or receives emergency room treatment. Correction: Moving forward if we have a child that requires hospitalization or emergency room care, the regional office will be telephoned within 24 hours. If our state inspector cannot be reached, the emergency line will be contacted so they can be notified by telephone in the appropriate time frame. Inspection: Unannounced Monitoring. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/11/2025
  24. Medium-High risk1/31/2025

    Every 60 days (3270.94(a)(1))

    Fire drills have not been completed at least every 60 days. Fire drills were completed on 8/1/24, 61 days later on 10/1/24, and then 62 days later on 12/2/24. Requirement: The Director or designated staff person who is responsible for compliance with this chapter shall conduct fire drills and ensure that fire drills are conducted at least once every 60 days. Correction: Moving forward Fire Drills will be completed exactly within the 60-day time period Inspection: Unannounced Monitoring. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/11/2025

Showing the 25 most recent of 68 records on file; the full history loads with the interactive view.

Safety & Compliance Analysis

This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.

25Total Violations
0Recent Violations
(Past 6 Months)

Parent Recommendations

Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:

  • Review the detailed violations listed above.
  • Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
  • Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
  • Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.

Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.

Estimated monthly cost

$774/month

This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.

Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median)see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.

About this daycare

  • Location: QUARRYVILLE, Lancaster County
  • Capacity: 138
  • Type: Child Care Center
  • Years in operation: 1

What parents actually pay

No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.

Add what you pay

Anonymous. One report per family. It helps other parents budget honestly.

Parent Reviews

More daycares in QUARRYVILLE, PA