MAGGIES PLAYHOUSE DAYCARE & LEARNING

UPPER DARBY, PAChild Care CenterLicensed

3.2based on state inspection data
Capacity32
Est. price$860/mo

Contact information

Address1416 BYWOOD AVE, UPPER DARBY, PA, 19082

CityUPPER DARBY, PA 19082

CountyDelaware

Phone(484) 461-2123

Operating details

Capacity32

SubsidiesY

License dateMarch 18, 2026

Compliance snapshot

Last inspection: 1/15/2026 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.

  • High2
  • Medium-High10
  • Medium8
  • Medium-Low1
  • Low0

Join the waitlist

Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.

Location

Using Address for Location

Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:

1416 BYWOOD AVE, UPPER DARBY, PA, 19082, UPPER DARBY, PA 19082

Questions to ask on a tour

Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.

  1. This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
  2. This facility has staffing or training findings on its state record - ask about background checks, required training completion, and staff turnover
  3. Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
  4. They accept child care subsidies - ask what the enrollment process looks like and whether there is a waitlist for subsidized spots

Violation summary

Last 2 years · Last inspection: 1/15/2026

  • High1
  • Medium-High5
  • Medium6
  • Medium-Low0
  • Low0

2026

  1. Medium risk1/15/2026

    Two written references (3270.192(5))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the file reviewed for staff person #2 only has (1) written reference attesting to suitability to serve as a facility person. Requirement: A facility person's record shall include two written, nonfamily references from individuals attesting to the person's suitability to serve as a facility person. Correction: Obtain addition reference for staff person #2. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 2/9/2026
  2. Medium-High riskStandard 121/15/2026

    12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter (3270.151(a))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the health assessment reviewed for staff person #1 was more than 24 months old. Requirement: A facility person providing direct care who comes into contact with the children or who works with food preparation shall have a health assessment conducted within 12 months prior to providing initial service in a child care setting and every 24 months thereafter. A health assessment is valid for 24 months following the date of signature, if the person does not contract a communicable disease or develop a medical problem. Correction: Obtain updated health assessment from staff person #1. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/30/2026
  3. Medium risk1/15/2026

    Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports (3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the file reviewed for child #1 did not contain an updated health report. Requirement: The operator shall require the parent to provide an updated health report at least every 12 months for an older toddler or preschool child. A child's record shall contain initial and subsequent health reports. Correction: Request updated child report from parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/30/2026
  4. Medium risk1/15/2026

    Handwashing signs (3270.82(h))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there was no handwashing sign posted by the sink in the older toddler classroom. Requirement: A facility person and an able child shall wash his hands after toileting and before eating. A sign on which this requirement is written shall be posted at each toilet, training chair, diapering area and sink in the facility. Correction: Handwashing signs were posted back on the wall. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/30/2026
  5. Medium-High risk1/15/2026

    Building Surfaces (3270.76)

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there was a hole in the wall observed in the infant classroom in need of repair. Requirement: Floors, walls, ceilings and other surfaces, including the facility's outdoor play space surfaces shall be kept clean, in good repair and free from visible hazards. Correction: The hole in the wall was repaired. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/30/2026
  6. Medium-High risk1/15/2026

    Has all items (3270.75(c))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the first aid kit reviewed in the preschool classroom did not contain scissors and tape. Requirement: A first-aid kit must contain the following: soap, an assortment of adhesive bandages, sterile gauze pads, tweezers, tape, scissors and disposable, nonporous gloves. Correction: Scissors and tape were purchased and placed in first aid kit. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/30/2026
  7. Medium risk1/15/2026

    Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less (3270.65)

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there were uncovered electrical outlets observed in the infant classroom. Requirement: Protective receptacle covers shall be placed in electrical outlets accessible to children 5 years of age or younger. Correction: Outlet was covered during inspection Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/15/2026
  8. Medium-High risk1/15/2026

    Age and Training (3270.31(e)(4)(i))

    During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the first aid/ cpr certification reviewed for staff person #1 was not renewed before the expiration of the most current certification. Requirement: Competence is the completion of training by a professional in the field of first-aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). All staff persons shall renew their certification in pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on or before the expiration of the most current certification. Correction: Training scheduled for 1/29/26 Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/29/2026

2025

  1. Medium risk1/15/2025

    Designated release persons (3270.123(a)(5))

    During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the fee agreement reviewed for child #1 and child #3 did not specify the person designated by parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: Fee agreement was updated for child #1, child #2 and child #3. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/28/2025
  2. Medium-High risk1/15/2025

    Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission (3270.182(5))

    During the renewal inspection the file reviewed for child #1, child #2, and child #3 did not contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first aid procedures by facility staff. Requirement: A child's record shall contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff. Written consent is required prior to admission. Correction: Emergency contact form was updated by parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/28/2025
  3. High risk1/15/2025

    Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission (3270.182(3))

    During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the file reviewed for child #1, child #2, and child #3 did not contain signed parental consent for emergency. Requirement: A child's record shall contain signed parental consent for emergency medical care for the child. Written consent is required prior to admission. Correction: Emergency contact form was updated by parent. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/28/2025
  4. Medium risk1/15/2025

    Amount of fee (3270.123(a)(1))

    During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the fee agreement reviewed for child #1 and child 3 did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week. Correction: Fee agreement was updated for child $1 and child #2. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 1/28/2025

Safety & Compliance Analysis

This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.

21Total Violations
0Recent Violations
(Past 6 Months)

Parent Recommendations

Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:

  • Review the detailed violations listed above.
  • Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
  • Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
  • Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.

Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.

Estimated monthly cost

$860/month

This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.

Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median)see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.

About this daycare

  • Location: UPPER DARBY, Delaware County
  • Capacity: 32
  • Type: Child Care Center
  • Years in operation: 0

What parents actually pay

No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.

Add what you pay

Anonymous. One report per family. It helps other parents budget honestly.

Parent Reviews

More daycares in UPPER DARBY, PA