IRENE A OAKLEY CHAMPION LEARNING CENTER

PHILADELPHIA, PAChild Care CenterLicensed

4.4based on state inspection data
Capacity85
Est. price$817/mo

Contact information

Address3509 OLD YORK RD, PHILADELPHIA, PA, 19140

CityPHILADELPHIA, PA 19140

CountyPhiladelphia

Phone(215) 229-2870

Operating details

Capacity85

SubsidiesY

License dateMay 5, 2025

Compliance snapshot

Last inspection: 4/2/2025 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.

  • High2
  • Medium-High11
  • Medium12
  • Medium-Low0
  • Low0

Join the waitlist

Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.

Location

Using Address for Location

Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:

3509 OLD YORK RD, PHILADELPHIA, PA, 19140, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19140

Questions to ask on a tour

Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.

  1. This facility has health or sanitation findings on its state record - ask about their current cleaning, diapering, and handwashing procedures
  2. This facility has staffing or training findings on its state record - ask about background checks, required training completion, and staff turnover
  3. Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
  4. They accept child care subsidies - ask what the enrollment process looks like and whether there is a waitlist for subsidized spots

Violation summary

Last 2 years · Last inspection: 4/2/2025

  • High1
  • Medium-High3
  • Medium3
  • Medium-Low0
  • Low0

2025

  1. Medium-High risk4/2/2025

    Director or designated staff person ensure compliance (3270.95(b))

    During renewal inspection certification rep checked fire extinguishers. Last date fire extinguishers were inspected was 10/2023. Last fire inspection at the facility was 10/2023. Fire alarm was not tested every 30 days. Requirement: The Director or designated staff person who is responsible for compliance with this chapter shall ensure the requirements under subsection (a) are met. Correction: Called Schweizer fire company on 4-2-25. I informed the staff of the necessity to conduct fire alarm testing on a monthly basis. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/7/2025
  2. Medium-High risk4/2/2025

    Name/address/phone release person (3270.124(b)(7))

    During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 3 was missing address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: The team responsible for the accuracy of the files have been made aware of the errors. Corrections have been made. Address of release person added to emergency contact Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025
  3. Medium-High risk4/2/2025

    Parent home/work address, phone (3270.124(b)(3))

    During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 2 and 3 were missing work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent. Requirement: Emergency contact information must include the home and work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent. Correction: The team responsible for the accuracy of the files have been made aware of the errors. Corrections have been made, and missing information was added. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025
  4. Medium risk4/2/2025

    Designated release persons (3270.123(a)(5))

    During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Fee agreement for child 1 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released. Correction: The error was brought to those responsible for the accuracy of all files and corrections were made. Release person added to fee agreement. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025
  5. Medium risk4/2/2025

    Date fee to be paid (3270.123(a)(2))

    During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Fee agreement for child 3 did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid. Requirement: An agreement shall specify the date on which the fee is to be paid. Correction: The team responsible for the accuracy of the files have been made aware of the errors. Corrections have been made. Fee agreement updated. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025
  6. Medium riskStandard 1104/2/2025

    110º F or less (3270.69(b))

    During renewal inspection certification rep checked the water temperature in Little Explorers. The water temperature was 114° F. Requirement: Hot water temperature, in areas accessible to children, may not exceed 110° F. Correction: On 4-2-25 in the afternoon, a correction was made. The sink is portable with two large containers filled daily. Maintenance was instructed to replace the water with cold water daily. A warming pump is designed to start automatically when hot water is selected. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025
  7. High risk4/2/2025

    Similar Age Level (3270.51)

    During renewal inspection certification rep observed two classrooms out of ratio. Staff in Bubble Guppies had 12 children by themselves and the staff in Shining Stars had 12 children by themselves. Age of the youngest child in each room was 3. Requirement: When children are grouped in similar age levels, the following maximum child group sizes and ratios of staff persons apply: Infants 1:4 with a maximum group size of 8; Young toddlers 1:5 with a maximum group size of 10; Older toddlers 1:6 with a maximum group size of 12; Preschool children 1:10 with a maximum group size of 20; Young school-age children 1:12 with a maximum group size of 24; Older school-age children 1:15 with a maximum group size of 30. Correction: That morning, I had an employee call out with a medical emergency. I was the coverage for that class with the head teacher (Shining Stars). After the inspection, two children were removed from the Bubble Guppies class, reducing their count to 10. The other two children were transferred back to shining stars classroom increasing its count to 15, where I was with the second staff member. Later in the afternoon, the assigned staff member returned from her doctor's appointment and replaced me. Inspection: Renewal. Source: PA DHS COMPASS provider search (compass.dhs.pa.gov).

    Corrected 4/2/2025

Showing the 25 most recent of 35 records on file; the full history loads with the interactive view.

Safety & Compliance Analysis

This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.

25Total Violations
0Recent Violations
(Past 6 Months)

Parent Recommendations

Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:

  • Review the detailed violations listed above.
  • Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
  • Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
  • Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.

Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.

Estimated monthly cost

$817/month

This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.

Typical prices in Pennsylvania run about $1,099/month for infant care at a center (federal median)see daycare costs in Pennsylvania by age group.

About this daycare

  • Location: PHILADELPHIA, Philadelphia County
  • Capacity: 85
  • Type: Child Care Center
  • Years in operation: 1

What parents actually pay

No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.

Add what you pay

Anonymous. One report per family. It helps other parents budget honestly.

Parent Reviews

More daycares in PHILADELPHIA, PA