Alpha Academy
HOUSTON, TX·Licensed CenterLicensed · Open
Contact information
Address1647 CANDYTUFT CT HOUSTON TX- 77038 2907
CityHOUSTON, TX
CountyHARRIS
Phone2818203399
Operating details
Hours06:00 AM-06:30 PM
DaysMon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
Capacity51
SubsidiesY
License dateDecember 11, 2002
Compliance snapshot
Last inspection: 10/2/2025 · Counts cover the full published inspection history; search results show the past 2 years.
- High1
- Medium-High7
- Medium6
- Medium-Low3
- Low1
Join the waitlist
Not ready to tour? Get on the waitlist and we'll notify the center you're interested.
Location
Using Address for Location
Exact coordinates aren't available, but you can view this location at:
1647 CANDYTUFT CT HOUSTON TX- 77038 2907, HOUSTON, TX
Questions to ask on a tour
Chosen for this facility's inspection history and profile — bring them along on your visit.
- This facility has health or sanitation findings on its state record - ask about their current cleaning, diapering, and handwashing procedures
- This facility has safety-related findings on its state record - ask how the cited hazards were corrected and when emergency drills were last run
- This facility has staffing or training findings on its state record - ask about background checks, required training completion, and staff turnover
- Ask how they keep enrollment, immunization, and emergency-contact records current - their state findings include documentation lapses
Violation summary
Last 2 years · Last inspection: 10/2/2025
- High1
- Medium-High6
- Medium5
- Medium-Low3
- Low1
2025
- Medium-High riskStandard 746.520210/2/2025
746.5202(5) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Reunification Plan
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be reunited with their parents once the emergency is over,
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium-Low riskStandard 746.40510/2/2025
746.405(b)(1) - Required posting of name, address, and telephone number - Local CCR office
The emergency telephone number posting included the incorrect telephone number for the local Child Care Regulation Office. This was corrected at inspection.
Corrected at inspection - Medium-High riskStandard 746.520210/2/2025
746.5202(3) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Essential Documentation
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how the center will evacuate the building with parent contact information, emergency contact information and emergency medical authorization information for each child.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium riskStandard 746.130910/2/2025
746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium riskStandard 746.60310/2/2025
746.603(a)(2) - Children's Records - Admission Information
Of the six children's records evaluated, the following information was missing: 1. One lacked the address for the emergency contact 2. One lacked authorization for emergency medical care. 3. One lacked the phone number of the child's doctor
Corrected 10/16/2025 - Medium-High riskStandard 746.520210/2/2025
746.5202(2) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures
The emergency preparedness plan does not include the emergency phone number for the center, does not state how the center will communicate with emergency authorities and CHild Care Regulation.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium-High riskStandard 746.131110/2/2025
746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months
The director did not one clock hour of training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early CHildhood Brain Development for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Corrected 10/16/2025 - Medium-Low riskStandard 746.90110/2/2025
746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912)
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two lacked the pre-employment affidavit.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium riskStandard 746.131110/2/2025
746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
The director did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Corrected 10/16/2025 - High riskStandard 746.20110/2/2025
746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules
The parent handbook lacked the following information: 1. Requirements for indoor/outdoor physical activity, benefits of indoor//outdoor physical activity, duration of indoor/outdoor physical activity, type of indoor/outdoor physical activity, the setting, recommended clothing and footwear, criteria used when the weather prevents outdoor play and plan for physical activity when outdoor play is limited. 2. Instructions on how parents may access Minimum Standards, the HHSC website and contact information for the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Staff vaccination policy
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium riskStandard 746.131110/2/2025
746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment
The director did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Corrected 10/16/2025 - Medium-High riskStandard 746.520210/2/2025
746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be evacuated from the center and how children under the age of 2 will be evacuated.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium riskStandard 746.130910/2/2025
746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Low riskStandard 746.61110/2/2025
746.611(a)(1) - Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program
Of the six children's records evaluated, five lacked the name and address of the doctor who examined the child within the past year.
Corrected 10/16/2025 - Medium-High riskStandard 746.520210/2/2025
746.5202(4) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be cared for during the emergency.
Corrected 11/7/2025 - Medium-Low riskStandard 746.40110/2/2025
746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name
The list of current employees did not include all staff that are working at the center, This was corrected at inspection.
Corrected at inspection
Safety & Compliance Analysis
This daycare has multiple recorded violations. Review the details to make an informed decision.
(Past 6 Months)
Parent Recommendations
Based on the violation data, here are some recommendations:
- Review the detailed violations listed above.
- Ask the daycare about their response to these violations.
- Look at the correction status to see how quickly issues were addressed.
- Schedule a visit during regular hours to observe daily operations.
Note: This analysis is based on publicly available violation data and is intended as a tool to help parents make informed decisions. Always visit a daycare in person and ask specific questions about areas of concern.
Estimated monthly cost
$1,726/month
This is a modeled estimate — based on location, ages served, and program data — not the provider's actual tuition. Real prices vary by age group and services. Contact the daycare for current rates, fees, and availability.
Typical prices in Texas run about $840/month for infant care at a center (federal median) — see daycare costs in Texas by age group.
About this daycare
- Location: HOUSTON, HARRIS County
- Capacity: 51
- Type: Licensed Center
- Years in operation: 24
What parents actually pay
No parent-reported prices yet. If your child attends here, you can be the first to add one.